Wild UK Challenge for The Prince’s Trust

17 May

When I finished cycling through rural China on a fundraising challenge I wrote in an email back home: “I rode 400km through China on a bicycle and I’ll be glad if I never see one again!” I can eat my words because I’m getting back on the bike to train for another fundraising challenge, this time through rural England.

Through The Prince’s Trust, I have signed up to participate in the Wild UK Challenge in a team with three other girls. We named ourselves Charlie’s Angels (and I realise there is four of us!) and we’re all excited about going out there to ask for pounds for young people and to follow a scarily looking training regime. I say regime, because it really looks like a military-style exercise schedule that now sits on our fridge, reminding me every time I reach for the ice-cream or chocolate, I should be running around our park across the road instead.

But hey, I guess this gives me something to aim towards – to get fit so I can complete the 100 miles of combined hiking, cycling and kayaking in three days for the challenge. The team makes it easy to get motivated and I’m sure the excitement will escalate!

So, as a gentle hint and reminder for my birthday coming up in early July, I’m going to be asking all my friends and family back home to throw me a tenner (or a fiver, or whatever you can spare) in lieu of any birthday gifts. Please donate towards The Trust. Did you know that The Trust has to raise £1 million every single week to help young people get into education, jobs, training or volunteering. Since The Trust was started in 1976 by HRH The Prince of Wales, over 650,000 young people have gone through a Prince’s Trust programme. Quite an achievement, but there is still more young people out there who haven’t had the opportunity to finish school, to further their education and job prospects, or to simply get the training they need to even get themselves considered for a job.

You can donate towards our team here, or you can click on my name to sponsor directly to me.

I’ll definitely keep you all updated with how Charlie’s Angels is going!

Mel xox

Leave a Reply

today was meaningful

a collection of thoughts, life lessons, and days full of meaning.

Liv Hambrett

An Australian in Germany

I am the world's oyster

Photography, Aviation, Nature, Culture, Nikon, Canon, Qantas, Airlines, Emirates, Airports, A380, 747

LN|Knits

Love for hand-knitted & -crocheted beauty. Proud designer & founder of LN|Beanies and LN|Andes, my two knit brands, my two loves.

...our traveling without moving!...

Not just another WordPress.com site!

w a n d e r l u s t .

it courses through my veins

Mannahisms

Matt & Hannah's Overseas Adventures

willshegetaway

The ramblings of a girl chasing her dream

mmeblog

Our London come Toowoomba Life

